Press Release

National Coalition of Advanced Technology Centers 
Announces New Board Members from Industry

(CLEVELAND, June 4, 2019) — The National Coalition of Advanced Technology Centers (NCATC) announces the appointment of two Strategic Partners from among its industry membership to the Board of Directors, as well as the full slate of officers and directors for 2019.
During Q1-2019, the NCATC Board ratified new bylaws to add two (2) additional directors from its Strategic Partner (industry-led) membership.  NCATC members approved the change and the Strategic Partner Leadership Council (SPLC) nominated their top candidates for the inaugural seats on the NCATC Board. The SPLC election process selected two candidates in May. Officially joining the NCATC Board of Directors on June 1, 2019 are:
Greg SurtmanGreg Surtman
Workforce Education Strategist for Tooling U-SME
Term: 2019-2021
As Workforce Education Strategist at Tooling U-SME, Greg is responsible for bringing together community stakeholders from education, workforce development, economic development and industry to create strategies that develop a pipeline of skilled workers in the advanced manufacturing sector. In this role he is able to leverage his experience in workforce development and education to create engaging learning models that bridge the talent gap between job seekers and manufacturers across the country and help guide America’s youth toward career pathways that provide livable wages and meaningful careers.
With over 23 years of workforce development experience, Greg has been able to develop relationships with community and technical colleges across the country to help them develop and implement learning solutions for the industries they serve. Greg serves on the school board at Olmsted Falls City Schools and Polaris Career Center where he is focused on creating career exploration opportunities and programs to help kids make decisions about their learning journey after graduation. He is a Lean Six Sigma Green Belt, DiSC facilitator, and holds a BBA from the University of Toledo.  
Toni NearyToni Neary
Director of Education for Haas Tower – Morris Group, Inc.
Term: 2019-2022
Toni leads educational initiatives for Morris Group Inc. in their Haas Division, navigating outreach and communications for their 14 states throughout the US.  Passionate about career and technical education, Toni has spent 15 years engaging, developing and helping to grow advanced manufacturing programs through various roles in the industry.  In her current role Toni is working directly with schools, districts and states to justify, grow, fill and sustain viable manufacturing programs at the secondary and postsecondary level. You will find Toni speaking at state and national events to help grow awareness and change perceptions of careers and pathways to manufacturing as well as making the vital link of industry and educators to develop a strong, consistent skilled workforce pipeline. Toni also sits on boards for The American Precision Museum and NTMA-Workforce Development.
About NCATC:
The National Coalition of Advanced Technology Centers (NCATC) is an Affiliated Council of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) catalyzing a network of higher education and industry Strategic Partners resources that advocates, advises, and promotes the use of technology applications that enhance economic and workforce development programs and services. To learn more, call Craig McAtee, Executive Director, at 400.600.7749 or visit
2019 NCATC Board of Directors:
Jeff Wyco, President
Nick Graff, Immediate Past-President
Kathy Rentsch, President-Elect
Maria Coons, Treasurer
Marc Goldberg, Secretary
Hope Cotner, Director
Tim Baber, Director
Terri Burgess Sandu, Director
Alan Clayton, Director
Amanda Sizemore, Director
Chris Lewis, Director
Donald Hutchison, Director
Marilyn Barger, Director
Toni Neary, Director
Greg Surtman, Director
Craig McAtee